Limbo

I choose to forget you. I will bury the fragments of

you somewhere my consciousness cannot reach.

The clink of beer bottles, the orange of your shirt,

the stupid cereal freebie, the smiley on my planner page―

these will all vanish to oblivion.

The pillows will never again stifle the sobs

that were not meant to exist. The inebriated thoughts of

you will not haunt me again. And I will definitely

disremember the feel of your skin while you pitied me

as you held my hand.

I still wonder if anyone will dare fill the emptiness

you left, make every morning special

and bring shivers to the soul as you did.

And maybe, just maybe, I can forget the blur

of letters and late night wounds.

Then I can truly leave your memories behind.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑